Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    4

    Unanswered: export backup issues

    My export backup is consuming too much time,previously it was taking almost half an hour,now it is taking almost 10 hours.can any one tell what may be the problem

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Jena, Germany
    Posts
    2,721
    I try to be as specific as you are: Something changed in your system.
    Knut Stolze
    IBM DB2 Analytics Accelerator
    IBM Germany Research & Development

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    4

    export backup

    There was no major change in the database.
    If anyone accessing my table during export will cause problem?

    Thanks
    Baiju.R

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    4
    It has found that export is taking too much time(almost 10 Hrs) for 3 tables.There sizes are 1GB,500MB,3GB respectively(including indexes).I aready
    done reorg and runstats on the same tables and the entire schema where the tables are residing,but still problem persisting.Kindly advice

    Thanks
    Baiju.R

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    IL
    Posts
    557
    What Knuts is trying to tell you is you have to be more specific. What backup are you reffering too? what system are you on?
    --
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for Linux, UNIX, and Windows

    DB2 v9.7.0.6 os 6.1.0.0

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Jena, Germany
    Posts
    2,721
    How do you determine that it is taking "too much time"? For all we know, you could work on an i386 system at 25MHz and there I would say that 10 hours are quite fast and before you did back up just a small amount of data that's why it was taking only 1/2 hour.

    In short: Give us some details, starting with the DB2 version you are running on which platform, and some information what you are running, how exactly you back up the database, what else is running during the backup, what the different snapshots are showing you, etc.
    Last edited by stolze; 06-21-08 at 16:47.
    Knut Stolze
    IBM DB2 Analytics Accelerator
    IBM Germany Research & Development

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,737
    Quote Originally Posted by byjuraju
    If anyone accessing my table during export will cause problem?
    Yes, that could be the problem, especially if someone is updating rows. If you add "WITH UR" on the end of your select statement in the export, then you can probably get around this problem, but there is a slight chance of data inconsistancies.
    M. A. Feldman
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for Linux, UNIX, and Windows
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for z/OS and OS/390

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    4
    Database is residing in aix box ,i am taking backup through command center.following command is taking the backup.

    EXPORT TO 'C:\Data\MS_EMPLOYEE.ixf' OF IXF
    SELECT * FROM DB2INST1.MS_EMPLOYEE;

    if am using anyother format instead of ixf,can i take the backup faster.kindly
    suggest

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •