Thread: Career Advice??

Unanswered: Career Advice??

Hi everyone!

I am 23 yrs old and recently started out on what I know will be a long career path to becoming a DBA. I, like many, have had little experience in a database enviroment and so have had to self-fund a distance learning course in order to gain desirable qualifications. I am currently studying a course around a full time job which upon completion offers the qualifications of CompTIA A+ Essentials, CompTIA A+ Technician, Microsoft Certified Pro, and Microsoft Certified DBA using SQL server. I have also started to learn SQL and PL/SQL using practical exercises. Ideally I would like to work with Oracle products in the future, however gaining any shadow experience in this field without prior experience is proving almost impossible. I would like to know if anyone has any advice on career progression e.g- whether i should work with SQL server after my course or just try and move straight onto Oracle, any advice about gaining Oracle experience or just any other helpful tips and comments.

Thanks in advance.

Mark

Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Provided Answers: 1
    >I am 23 yrs old
    What is your degree?
    What was your GPA?
    What is your current job?
    You can lead some folks to knowledge, but you can not make them think.
    The average person thinks he's above average!
    For most folks, they don't know, what they don't know.
    Good judgement comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgement.

Hi,

I currently work in retail banking, I have done for 6 years, I don't have a degree, and im not sure what a GPA is??

Thanks

Mark

Some/many/most DBAs have Bachelor degree in something.
    Some/many/most DBAs started their career as a programmer.
    Proverbial Catch-22 for wannabe DBAs.
    You can't get hired without having previous experience.
    You can't get experience without a job.