Unanswered: Import LARGE .csv into Excel to import into .mdb

OK .. Im a database noob.

I've had a web site that users search using a .mdb file converted from a .csv into a .xls then imported into a .mdb.

The file has now reached a point where it's too big to open in excel. Needless to say, the searching I have done has not proved successful.

That being said, I need to be able to open this .csv file into excel, save it as a .xls and then import it into my .mdb.

Any suggestions? or is there a better way of doing this?

If you are using Excel 97 - 2003 you can import 65536 rows into a single spreadsheet. If you more reocrds more than this you could save your CSV into 2 files with half the data in each or divide into more files if it is bigger than 131072 records. Excel 2007 can import over 1 million rows.

Your easiest approach to this may be to import the CSV using MS Access and save your MDB with Access. Where you don't have the rows limit.

If you don't have MS Access, that may be why you want to use Excel to convert the data and save as an MDB, it may be worth the expense to abtain a copy of MS Access if your doing this frequently.

An even better option may be to use MySQL or SQL Light as the Back End database for your web site. This will require some programming changes in your site design but I think it would improve your site performance and eliminate the need to convert the data from CSV. Most hosting services offer MySQL database access with thier accounts. There are many scripts configured to read and write to CSV Files which can be access and parsed quickly using a PHP or Pearl script.
    ~

Bill

Thanks ...

I have both excel and access 2002/2007. Access wont let me import the csv file.. gives me some error about "{filename} does not contain data"

This is corrected (previously) when I opened the .csv in excel and saved as .xls (dont ask me why, but it worked).