Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    4

    Unanswered: got problem when change table link

    Hello everyone,

    I am using Vista,SQL Server2005 and Access2007. I created a Access Database and creat tables by linking to ODBC database. At this time the tables and querys worked very well. I also can change table link. But after I close the Access database them reopen it again, when I try to change the table link(Linked table manager-select all-check "Always promt for new location"), I got a erro message "ODBC call failed". Does anyone have any idea about this. Thanks a lot.

    Di

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    151
    Have you set up the particular DSN in your ODBC manager? If not, set that up with the proper config and then try to relink them all.

    Does it work ever after you close it?

    Stu
    --If its free, take it for what its worth!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    4

    Thank you for your reply

    Hi Stu,

    I use File DSN, SQL server driver and TCP/IP as Client Protocols. In addition, I found out sometimes, when I restart computer, the Access Database works fine. But if I close it and reopen it, the problem happens again. Any idea?

    Thanks

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    151

    Sorry....

    As long as the ODBC is set up with the proper username and password I would think it would work. You may want to try deleting the link and then when you relink it check the remember password box. I'm not sure why this would have a difference but its worth a try.

    :-)Stu
    --If its free, take it for what its worth!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    4

    Thanks a lot

    Hi Stu,

    I choose with windows NT authentication using the network login ID. So I do not need define the user name and password. Actually, I can not find the remember password check box. I use Access 2007. Is it same with you?

    Di

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    151

    Hummmm?

    Hey,

    I've not used the file dsn before. When I link to an Oracle or SQL Server table I always set it up in the system or user dsn tab in the ODBC data source administrator. There I just enter the server name in all three places and click next. The next tab has the choices for authentication and I've always used my log in for the db.

    Not sure if this helps, but good luck.

    Stu
    --If its free, take it for what its worth!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    Use a SYSTEM DSN, or you'll have to code your database to re-connect the table links each time it starts. Personally I prefer the latter.
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    4

    Thanks

    I do not know what I did. But now the Access Database works very well. Really appriciate your help.

    Have a good day.

    Di

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    ^^ Good that you got it sorted, but still it would be nice to know what you did just in case you or someone else runs into the same problem
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •