Unanswered: Cannot Connect Sqlserver 2005

hello,

i am new to sqlserver2005 and am running it under windows vista home premium. how do i get the server started? i am starting it from server management studio but when i attempt to connect i get this error:

Cannot connect to SERVER2005.

------------------------------
    ADDITIONAL INFORMATION:

An error has occurred while establishing a connection to the server. When connecting to SQL Server 2005, this failure may be caused by the fact that under the default settings SQL Server does not allow remote connections. (provider: Named Pipes Provider, error: 40 - Could not open a connection to SQL Server) (Microsoft SQL Server, Error: 53)

For help, click: http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink?ProdN...3&LinkId=20476

BUTTONS:

OK
    anagement studio. registered a server but cant get a connection.

how do i correct this?

any help would be highly appreciated.

thanks.

Do you have latest service pack (SP2) of sql server installed on your system ?
    Mihir Mehendale
    DB Team @ Clarion
    Clarion Technologies
    (SEI CMMI Level 3)
    Pune, India
    www.clariontechnologies.co.in
    www.vEmployee.com

Are you working with SQL 2005 Standard, Enterprise or Express?
    Last edited by Liebling; 06-30-08 at 13:00.
    "Passion rebuilds the world for the youth. It makes all things alive and significant. ~Ralph Waldo Emerson

Developer edition?

if so turn on remote connections in surface area config

You get this when the username or password are wrong.
    Change them to correct values and check it again.

Neither of the suggestions actually targets the real problem. As the message from the link posted by OP states, "This error could occur because either the client cannot resolve the name of the server or the name of the server is incorrect."
    "The data in a record depends on the Key to the record, the Whole Key, and
    nothing but the Key, so help me Codd."

Quote Originally Posted by rdjabarov