Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    163

    Unanswered: accesss2003: forms - how make custom "record ## of #"?

    When making forms, is it possible to replace the toolbar on the bottom that allows the user to navigate between pages and make new entries? I was wondering if it was possible to make one's own bar that will replace that one that says "Record: (button: go to first)(button: previous)(entry box:current entry)(button: next)(button: last)(button: new*) of #"

    Also, how does one set a form to display the latest entry instead of the first?

    Thanks!
    Last edited by coffeecat; 06-29-08 at 23:47.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    Yes.

    Why?

    It would be quite a bit of effort to replace something that is quite functional as it is... why re-invent the wheel?
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    163
    That's good to hear, but I'm feeling that this little task might be more that what my current skill can accomplish. I was hoping to create larger buttons with text for those functions. I keep my users in mind =D

    How is it done? o_o'

    And since I'm gonna ask it anyway, I might as well; how do I set the form to display the latest entry and how do I create a revert button per data?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    Ok, that makes sense

    First thing to do would be to switch off the normal one.

    Then create yourself all the controls that you need, such as five command buttons, one text box and one label.

    Then code the command buttons to do what you want them to do.

    Then code the form to update the label and text box with the correct values.

    Then code the text box's After Update to go to the record entered (no-one I know of actually uses this though).

    I think that's it


    how do I set the form to display the latest entry
    If the table has an AutoNumber field (it should!) then just sort the form's underlying query in descending order on that field. That's one way. You could also have a DateModified field that you could use to do the same.

    how do I create a revert button per data?
    You mean an UNDO button? Just create a command button and code it to run the UNDO action.

    I can give you more specific instructions on each thing, one at a time. Just let me know where you get stuck
    Last edited by StarTrekker; 06-30-08 at 01:25.
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    163
    Thanks! that's a great help. I'll try looking up the commands.

    >> "DateModified field"

    That sounds awesome. Is that field for manual input or can Access automatically detect and input data for it? ...something like "Date()"?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    Any date field can have =Date() set for its Default Value
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    163
    Thanks! I tend to miss simple things like that. =D

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    You're most welcome
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Baghdad, Iraq
    Posts
    697
    Quote Originally Posted by coffeecat
    When making forms, is it possible to replace the toolbar on the bottom that allows the user to navigate between pages and make new entries? I was wondering if it was possible to make one's own bar that will replace that one that says "Record: (button: go to first)(button: previous)(entry box:current entry)(button: next)(button: last)(button: new*) of #"
    Do you have any particular needs? For example, one app I did was a personnel roster. People wanted to navigate by last name. I found the quickest way was to have a row of 21 buttons that took the user to record 1, 5% * n, 10% * n..., 95% * n, n. This was in addition to the built in pager, but it was much quicker and eliminated the need to search. For a small number of records, it would never take more than five clicks to get where you were going.

    The other possibility is to have a quick search textbox. As the user types in to the textbox, a hidden listbox is displayed and continuously updated showing the best matches. You can make the quick search smart too, for example, recognize that last, first means match both last and first name. (One thing I'd recommend against: I tried making the quick search actually go to the best matching record as the user typed. It never worked well at all.)

    You can even do a hybrid of the two systems... if there are less than 100 entries, just show the buttons, more than 100 show the quick search. You have a lot of flexibility when you roll your own controls.

    Let me know if you're interested in seeing some code; I've got it tucked away some place.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    163
    Thanks for the help. I'm okay with just making the existing nav buttons more useful for my end-users. If the db comes out right, no form would present data too huge to navigate around in.

    I haven't started up on those actually, just adding stuff to my to-do list so I won't forget. The search box is really a useful idea. I'll look up on that as well.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •