Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Unanswered: Can't connect to MySQL server on '192.xxx.xx.x' (10061)

Hi all,

i have a epos app on a laptop cannot connect to the server remotely.

the server is on a private 192. address via a wireless router.

the laptop is also on another private address with the application copied\pasted onto it but when the application is ran i get the following error..

Can't connect to MySQL server on '192.xxx.xx.x' (10061)

the mysql database is using filezilla as an ftpclient also

i have all the files and this has been setup before to work but not by me. i have no sql knowledge so please be kind lol

Thanks
    Dan

Provided Answers: 59
    id suggest you talk to the supplier of the eos app....

the most likely reasons are ging to be
    the security on the sql server isn't set up for your userid from the ip address. Id want to check the ip address actually being received at the sql server... it may not be the same as the 192. series assuming its going through some sort of network acesss point.

it could be that the server and the client are not talking.. it could be a firewall or proxy server problem at any of the systems.

from the error message you are getting I'd expect it to be more likely to be a firewall/proxy problem.

however proving that within your app environment is going tobe tricky.

if it were me I'd download the MySQL GUI utilities, from the MySQL site, such as query browser & administrator and prove the connection works and then move on to why the app isnt workng
    I'd rather be riding on the Tiger 800 or the Norton

the epos app was made one off, cannot get intouch with the guy

the app runs fine when its on the same lan as the server, but i need this to run from anywhere.

the easiest way i can think of would be to create a vpn for the site but im sure mysql queries can be ran from any ip range.