Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Unanswered: issue making a pass-through query an append query

Hi guys, I am attempting to make a database of mine updatable to a data souurce using pass-through queries. Doing a select query worked great on all of them, so I added the INSERT INTO statement to the query, and I get an error. I will put the code here of one of the simple queries:

First I used this:

"INSERT INTO Customers ( custid, custname )
    SELECT fcustno, fcompany
    FROM slcdpm"

and got an error saying "Invalid object 'Customers'" so I tried:

INSERT INTO Customers ( custid, custname ) IN 'H:\db\mdb.accdb'
    SELECT fcustno, fcompany
    FROM slcdpm

and it said invalid syntax near 'IN'

I am relatively new to all of this, so are you not able to do this with pass-through queries? Could I make an append query within access which just called on these select queries? Any help is appreciated. Thanks.

Please post your pass through SELECT. Are Customers and slcdpm in the destination database file?

well for the query that I have above, the table slcdpm is a table from the DSN sql database which the database has read-only access too (might be the problem?) Customers would be a local table in the database.

If i use:

"SELECT fcustno, fcompany
    FROM slcdpm"

It works fine, but if I use an INSERT INTO statement like:

"INSERT INTO Customers ( custid, custname )
    SELECT fcustno, fcompany
    FROM slcdpm"

or

"INSERT INTO Customers ( custid, custname ) IN 'H:\db\mdb.accdb'
    SELECT fcustno, fcompany
    FROM slcdpm"

it gives the errors I mentioned above... should I use an ms access append query that calls on the pass through query? it just seems like it would be easier if i could do it all in one query. thanks.

So:
    There is a SQL database containing slcdpm. You can execute a pass through query to that SQL database and SELECT data from the table?