Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

newbie question about db design

I'm fairly new to SQL and have a design question. For a small project I have several places where I need the same data structure, representing for each day of the week (Mon to Sun) either a range of hours or no range for that day. For example, a work schedule might be Mon 9am-3pm, Tue 9am-6pm, and Thu 1pm to 11pm, and nothing on the other days.

But I also need the same thing to represent other things within the same project, such as the hours that a store is open each week, and several other things. For all of these there only needs to be one interval (or none) for each day of the week, and it's sufficient for intervals to start and end on hour boundaries. In a programming language I'd define a class and methods to represent this and then use it over and over. What's the right approach design-wise with SQL?

I was thinking I'd have a single table of WeeklyIntervals with columns id (primary key), MonStart (0-23), MonEnd (0-23), TueStart, ... and so on. A day without shift would set the corresponding start and end to zero. Then an Employee table might have a column Workschedule that's a foreign key (WeeklyIntervals id). Similarly a Store table might have an Hours column.