Need a DBMS for a desktop app

Not sure if this is the most appropriate forum but looked good so here goes...

I've been doing some research and would like to get some opinions. This is my first time having to start a system from scratch and I'm getting nervous.

I'm working on a legacy system for a government contract. To keep things simple I'll say it's an equipment and personnel inventory system; users keep lists of gear they have on hand and use that as their source for manifesting shipments, keeping track of where it all is and so on.

Right now, the system is a Powerbuilder app running on Sybase SQLAnywhere 8. We've reached the point where the client has realized the system we have has been patched and duct taped to the point of no return so we were given the go for a rewrite. This time it'll be in Java, with the possibility of interfacing with a master online system, but for the first go around this is all disconnected. That is, each user has their own lists they keep track of.

I'm going to be accountable for the DISA STIGs for at least desktop applications and databases. My problem is which DBMS to go with. My client is cheap, first and foremost. However when you mention open source to everyone you get gasps, some people cross themselves and others just pass out.

What I would like to have is the same setup we have with SQLAnywhere which is that the database software is not installed, the proper runtimes are simply put along with the database file and you're good to go. It needs to handle localhost traffic but also have a network option as they use mobile computers that track equipment as well so a network connection is needed sometimes. I'd go right for SQLAnywhere but a few years ago when we upgraded the Powerbuilder version, it came with the newer SQLAnywhere....the client didn't want to pay for the new runtimes so we got stuck with the old engine.