Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    16

    Unanswered: forcing a new line

    Hi all,

    If i've a text field, and am showing phone numbers, how do i force it to show the second number on a new line?

    Any help, appreciated.
    Thanks
    ----------------------
    IMPOSSIBLE has another way of saying - I M POSSIBLE

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    out on a limb
    Posts
    13,692
    Provided Answers: 59
    I think its pressinghe contrl & enter keys at the same time
    programatically youcan do this by inserting the VB constant vbcrlf between the words
    I'd rather be riding on the Tiger 800 or the Norton

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    metro Detroit
    Posts
    634
    Is this on a form or report? You're not talking about storing more than one phone number in a single field, right?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    16
    It's a report.

    I think i found the ans, it's chr(13) & chr(10)

    yes rogue, iw as talking about storing more than one number in a single field, i just wanted it to show on a new line instead of using spaces.

    Thanks guys.
    ----------------------
    IMPOSSIBLE has another way of saying - I M POSSIBLE

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Richmond, Virginia USA
    Posts
    2,763
    Provided Answers: 19
    Rogue's point is that this violates a major, major rule of relational databases! You should never, never store more than one piece of data in a single field. Sooner or later, you'll find that you need to use only one of these pieces by itself, and it'll be a real pain trying to parse it out!
    Hope this helps!

    The problem with making anything foolproof...is that fools are so darn ingenious!

    All posts/responses based on Access 2003/2007

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    16
    really, i never thought of that.

    Thanks, Missingling
    ----------------------
    IMPOSSIBLE has another way of saying - I M POSSIBLE

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Préverenges, Switzerland
    Posts
    3,740
    if you are only doing this for display (e.g. a report), it's OK.

    if display only, poots did some work (see one of the earlier efforts in the codebank sticky) that suggests that
    sometext & vbnewline & moretext
    is faster than
    sometext & chr(13) & chr(10) & moretext
    and is also faster than
    sometext & vbcrlf & moretext

    izy
    currently using SS 2008R2

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    16
    YEs, this was done only for reporting purposes.
    ----------------------
    IMPOSSIBLE has another way of saying - I M POSSIBLE

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •