Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    13

    Unanswered: Cluster Failover and Memory

    Hello,

    We have an Active/Passive Cluster. RAM is 25GB.

    SQL Server 'MAX MEMORY' is set to 20GB. When we failover to node2, Total Memory allocated is 20GB. Performance counter 'Total Server Memory' shows 20GB. Also 'dbcc memorystatus'(Commited) displays 20GB.

    However, when we fail back to node1, Performance counter 'Total Server Memory' shows 10GB. Also 'dbcc memorystatus'(Commited) displays 10GB. Shouldn't it be 20GB on node1 too?


    Thank you.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    3,662
    use syscompare to ensure that OS is patched to the same level. also check your hardware settings on the BIOS level on both nodes.
    "The data in a record depends on the Key to the record, the Whole Key, and
    nothing but the Key, so help me Codd."

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    13
    Thank you for your reply.

    Can see that node1 has Service Pack 1. node2 does not have any Service Packs. Based on this would think the problem would be on node2 but it is with node1.


    Thank you.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    3,662
    So, task #1 is to bring both nodes to the same patch level, and only then perform the analysis of the memory anomaly.
    "The data in a record depends on the Key to the record, the Whole Key, and
    nothing but the Key, so help me Codd."

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    13
    Once the Windows team does so, will then look at the memory.

    Will post a reply accordingly.

    Thanks.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    13
    The service packs are stilled not applied.

    Since the latest service packs weren't applied, would it be the cause of the memory pressure issues we are having with the SQL Server? Gets to the point where the server just comes to a standstill.


    Thank you.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    In front of the computer
    Posts
    15,579
    Provided Answers: 54
    Running a cluster with servers at different patch levels is emphatically NOT a good idea. If you can imagine a problem on your server, this would be a good explanation for that problem.

    I'd recommend bringing just about any pressure you can on whoever you have to in order to get this problem resolved. I'd also recommend that both servers be brought to the most recent service pack level possible.

    -PatP

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    13
    Thank you for your reply.

    That is exactly what I was trying to tell the team.


    Thanks again.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    In front of the computer
    Posts
    15,579
    Provided Answers: 54
    Quote Originally Posted by PM from UnSure
    Hello,

    I am still trying to get the Windows Team to apply the service packs.

    Is there a particular netbios setting that they should look at? I know I am going to be asked that question.
    No, you can apply both Windows and SQL Service packs regardless of NetBios settings.

    -PatP

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    13
    Thank you for your quick reply.

    I meant with regard to the hardware settings on the BIOS level, is there anything specific that they should look at?

    So, far the server had to be failed over 3 times today. Causing a lot of issues.

    Thank you.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    In front of the computer
    Posts
    15,579
    Provided Answers: 54
    After they get the software to a stable state (where all server nodes are running at the same OS Edition and build/service pack level), they might want to investigate hardware as an afterthought. It is no where even close to as important in my mind as getting the existing configuration problems (different service packs on different nodes) fixed.

    -PatP

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    3,662
    "The data in a record depends on the Key to the record, the Whole Key, and
    nothing but the Key, so help me Codd."

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •