Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    163

    Unanswered: using the enter key on a text box

    The enter key behavior for the textbox has options for "default" and "new line".

    I tried using "If KeyCode = 13" for an on keydown event but it wont work (set to default).

    When I set the behavior to "new line" it will run the code, but will lead to problems after a while since the textbox will contain extra lines (and it does end up like that after a few presses).

    When I set the code to run in after update (behavior default), it will run on the first enter keypress but will not on subsequent key presses.

    What is the proper way of using keycode? thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    Try the On Key Press rather than KeyDown or KeyUp.

    TBH, I have never used KeyDown or KeyUp... so I can't be sure how to use them
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    163
    I tried that earlier too. Thanks anyway. I'm trying to learn the key events because they can help a bit.

    The enter key behavior has a "default" setting in behavior property, what does this mean? And how does one define what the default setting is?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    One doesn't. The default is that when the user presses Enter, the focus moves to the next control in the Tab Order. New Line in Field means that when the user presses Enter, a new line is created in the text box data instead.
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    163
    I would very much like to see a version of access with a tab order manager and linked image manager. =D

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    ??

    There is a Tab Order command which controls the order that controls are visited.

    What would a linked image manager do? ^^
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    163
    Well, ms access does provide a definitive method for the options I mentioned. Don't me mind at this point, I'm a silly non-dev using a db software, looking for accessibility options

    What would a linked image manager do? ^^
    Kinda like the linked tables manager. You get a list of all the images used in the db FE (backgrounds, buttons; not the images used in OLE records), which forms they're at and if they are embedded or linked. Of course, I do realize that intensive FE design isn't the ms access cup of tea (even linked images stored locally per client can cause slowdowns when opening forms -not to mention that each client has to follow the original directory structure).

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •