Unanswered: Narrowing Search

Basically our company has just over 1300 products. This sheet im creating, we have to type a product code into a cell and have it produce a load of information for that product code.

product codes are all in the format

116avt3f4285

they all start with 3 numbers.

What i was hoping was possible, was that by typing only the first 3 letters of the product code into the cell, a list is automatically produced that would only contain all of the product codes that start with those 3 numbers. The other option i can think of is that i could have a button that would open a dialog box, in which i could enter the 1st 3 digits and have that update a cell to have some kind of list for those products only.

I know it sounds odd, but as im not really an expert on excel or VB for excell, i was kind of hoping somebody would be able to come up with a full solution for me, failing that, a huge point in the right direction would be great.

thanks for reading

Lf

Provided Answers: 2
    Why not have the list of products on another sheet in the workbook, and then limit the key cell to that list? It appears as a drop-down box, and the users can then scroll to the correct product code.

hello weejas,

i like the idea, i currently have the products set up on a seperate sheet in the same workbook, i have used the cell i want the product code to appear in and set up as a list. What i need now, if poosible, say i was to type the 1st 3 numbers of the product code into the cell, i could then click the dropdown list and only get the options being the product codes that started with those 1st 3 letters, currently it brings up an error saying that the value i enter is not valid and that the user has restricted the values that can be entered into the cell
    Last edited by lovinfeelin; 08-22-08 at 05:37.

I know of no way to do this in native Excel, although a with little time I could probably come up with something based on a userform or an ActiveX control.