Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Unanswered: One to Many Query....

Short background: I'm an Air Force Sys Admin, just started learning SQL about 5 days ago on my own. Am using MS Visual Web Development Express to create an asp page to query my database. Is a test db just to learn SQL.

So, I have three tables I am concerned with right now to make a query. The query runs when a user would select a "Genre" from an asp dropdown list. So far so easy. The problems occurs when I try to write the query to select a TV Show that has more than one Genre and want that show to be included in each Genre. Here is my table structure (sorry if the format is not standard, newbie here!:

[tblTVMain (
    TVTitle PK
    GenreID FK (reference MoviesTVGenre.GenreID)
    GenreID2 FK (reference MoviesTVGenre.GenreID)
    GenreID3 FK (reference MoviesTVGenre.GenreID)
    )]

[tblMoviesTVGenre (
    GenreID PK
    GenreDescrip
    )]

[tblTVSeasons1 (
    TVTitle FK (reference TVMain.TVTtitle)
    Season
    Ep1
    Ep2
    EP3
    )]

Here is my Select statement with just using one Genre that works fine:

"SELECT TVSeasons1.TVTitle, MoviesTVGenre.GenreDescrip, TVSeasons1.Season, TVSeasons1.Ep1, TVSeasons1.Ep2, TVSeasons1.Ep3, TVSeasons1.Ep4, TVSeasons1.Ep5

FROM MoviesTVGenre

INNER JOIN TVMain ON MoviesTVGenre.GenreID = TVMain.GenreID
    INNER JOIN TVSeasons1 ON TVMain.TVTitle = TVSeasons1.TVTitle

WHERE MoviesTVGenre.GenreDescrip = @GenreDescrip"

The only way I can think to have it query two or more genres is to add more INNER JOIN statements and give correlated names for TVMain, such as:

"SELECT TVSeasons1.TVTitle, MoviesTVGenre.GenreDescrip, TVSeasons1.Season, TVSeasons1.Ep1, TVSeasons1.Ep2, TVSeasons1.Ep3, TVSeasons1.Ep4, TVSeasons1.Ep5

FROM MoviesTVGenre

INNER JOIN TVMain ON MoviesTVGenre.GenreID = TVMain.GenreID
    INNER JOIN TVMain TV2 ON MoviesTVGenre.GenreID = TV2.GenreID2
    INNER JOIN TVSeasons1 ON TVMain.TVTitle = TVSeasons1.TVTitle