Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Unanswered: Forcing index usage without hint

Hi, everyone. I'm a newbie at Oracle and I just found out recently that there's a thing called volatile table at DB2 which will force database to use any available index or we could probably say, forcing index scan to be executed whenever possible.

This way, database will search any available index automatically and use it. I'm wondering if it's possible to do such a thing at Oracle.

I tried to modify the parameter OPTIMIZER_INDEX_COST_ADJ and db2 multiblock something (I kinda forgot the name), and was able to perform index scanning in some cases (example : all columns have their own index), but I still can't perform it at all cases.

The safest way to force index is using the hints in your SQL code because this will override all Oracle's CBO options. In all other situations where you are not forcing the index using the hints, it will depend on the ORacle's CBO calculations and Oracle CBO will choose the least expensive execution path.

By
    http://www.oraexpert.in

Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Provided Answers: 1
    Ready, Fire, Aim!

You have better results by using the undocumented parameter
    _make_SQL_fast=true

You'll hear lots of Urban Legends about Oracle & a few will always be true.

Please continue to looking for the Silver Bullet, instead of actually RTFM found at:

http://tahiti.oracle.com
    You can lead some folks to knowledge, but you can not make them think.
    The average person thinks he's above average!
    For most folks, they don't know, what they don't know.
    Good judgement comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgement.

Provided Answers: 12
    Why do you want to force an index scan?

An index scan is not necessarily faster than e.g. a full table scan. But that depends on the query, the joins involved, the number of rows returned and some other things.