Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    The Farm
    Posts
    35

    Unanswered: 2 data bases with same name - is it possible

    Using: Oracle 10.2.0.3

    My first reaction to this question would be no. But I am not real conversant with the newest abilities of Oracle so I thought I would ask.

    Boss wants both data bases running at the same time.

    My thought is create a new database and when the final shutdown of the old database happens then shift the old name to the new database. Does that make sense?
    Bartron

    Liv'n down on the cube farm. Left, then another left, then right.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Posts
    7,776
    Provided Answers: 1
    >Does that make sense?
    Niether your boss nor you make sense.

    >shift the old name to the new database.
    EXACTLY what commands are used to do the above?
    You can lead some folks to knowledge, but you can not make them think.
    The average person thinks he's above average!
    For most folks, they don't know, what they don't know.
    Good judgement comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgement.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,296
    - 1 database (x)
    - copy x to a new database (y)
    - shutdown x
    - set alias on tnsnames to point x --> y
    (boss never knows the difference)

    x, y =
    (DESCRIPTION =
    (ADDRESS_LIST =
    (ADDRESS = (PROTOCOL = TCP)(HOST = y_server)(PORT = 1521))
    )
    (CONNECT_DATA =
    (SERVICE_NAME = y)
    (SERVER = DEDICATED)
    )
    )
    - The_Duck
    you can lead someone to something but they will never learn anything ...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    The Farm
    Posts
    35
    Thanks Duck. I assume it is a typo to copy the DB before shutting it down.

    Anecdent: I was planning on using the DBNEWID procedure
    Bartron

    Liv'n down on the cube farm. Left, then another left, then right.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Posts
    7,776
    Provided Answers: 1
    While DBNEWID will change the SID, I do not like it because I am used to working in an OFA compliant directories.
    I find having a mismatch between SID & file locations as something to avoid.

    I liked the The_Duck's response to just changing TNS as a reasonable solution.
    You can lead some folks to knowledge, but you can not make them think.
    The average person thinks he's above average!
    For most folks, they don't know, what they don't know.
    Good judgement comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgement.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    24
    Why not consider to rename the database by following steps on:-
    http://www.adp-gmbh.ch/ora/admin/rename_db.html

    I used these a couple of times and worked and regarding make it OFA complient files can be renamed after copying to the required directory structure.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •