Unanswered: Problem DB2 9.5 connection to Iseries

Hi all,

I am new to DB2.
    I want to configure replication between DB2 9.5-C Express and DB2 Iseries V5R2. I am maintaining a small database(around 50 tables) on local DB2 9.5. I want to keep exactly the same copy on Iseries V5R2. According to my understand of DB2 I though replication could be an option.
    But when I try to connect from DB2 9.5 to Iseries I get following error.

CLI connection failed.
    SQL8002N An attempt to connect to a host failed due to a missing DB2 Connect product or invalid license. SQLSTATE=42968

db2licm -1 displays following information
    Product name: "DB2 Express-C"
    License Type: "Unwarranted"
    Expiry date: "Permanent"
    Product identifier: db2exp"
    Version information : "9.5"
    Max number of CPUs: "2"

I am not sure if I can connect at all to Iseries V5R2 from DB2 9.5-C. Or even doing a replication is an a better choice.

I would request db2 gurus to help me out.

Thank

Provided Answers: 11
    you need db2 connect for this connection
    Best Regards, Guy Przytula
    Database Software Consultant
    Good DBAs are not formed in a week or a month. They are created little by little, day by day. Protracted and patient effort is needed to develop good DBAs.
    Spoon feeding : To treat (another) in a way that discourages independent thought or action, as by overindulgence.
    DB2 UDB LUW Certified V7-V8-V9-V9.7-V10.1-V10.5 DB Admin - Advanced DBA -Dprop..
    Information Server Datastage Certified
    http://www.infocura.be

Thanks for reply.

I have now db2 connect unlimited edition 8.1.10 tril installed. Still I am having the same problem.

Do I need a licensed version of db2 connect to do connectivity? Is there any way I can test replication without db2 connect license license?

Provided Answers: 11
    first define the connections and test
    catalog tcpip node...
    catalog db at node...
    connect to db and this should work..
    Best Regards, Guy Przytula