Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: The FAN trap

Question The FAN trap

This is my first post, so be gentle.

I am a fledgling database designer. ACTUALLY, I was supposed to be a data-entry clerk, but since they know what I'm majoring in in college...my job duties are kind of expanding... unfortunately, they're expanding a little faster than my knowledge is.
    "
    anyway, my back-story aside, I'm working on the data model for a database that is supposed to track the renewal dates for our independent contractors' credentials. Sounded easy enough at first, but as I started digging into the problem and re-examining my 'use cases' (I'm not sure i can even bear to call them use cases...) I've come across a problem.

Problem: I can not figure out a way to model the relationships between the contractor class, the credential class, and the expiration dates so that I don't fall into the so-called "fan-trap".

They keep insisting they need the specific date the credential expires, and they say they want to be able to pull reports on which credential expire within the month, within a user-specified date range, and which are expired.

I'm not asking for anyone to like...do all the work, but if anyone has some suggestions on how to solve this problem, I'd be...really really appreciative. I haven't even taken my introductory database design class, so I've just been fumbling through my pile of books trying to find a solution, but so far, nothin doing.

Thank you everyone in advance.

I'm beginning to wonder if I should just make the expiration date an attribute of the credential class... or make the credential an attribute of the contractor class... >.< My brain hurts.

~atsuko
    Last edited by atsukoarai86; 09-02-08 at 15:24.

Quote Originally Posted by atsukoarai86
    Problem: I can not figure out a way to model the relationships between the contractor class, the credential class, and the expiration dates so that I don't fall into the so-called "fan-trap".