Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

I need some help writing a Stored Procedure

Hello I need some help with writing out a stored procedure. I am fairly new to SQL/stored procedures and am having a bit of trouble making things work...

Im using SQL Server Management Studio Express for my database, and vb.net/visual studio2008 to design my forms.

I have 2 tables - BookingsItems, and Stock. The two tables are displayed in vb.net as DataGridViews, called dgvBookingsItems and dgvStock.

I want to create a booking by selecting a particular row in dgvStock (from stock table) and have the selected StockID inserted into the selected row and StockID field of BookingsItems. The BookingsItems row execute the insert into is selected by choosing a row in dgvBookingsItems.

The command will also insert the related bookingsID field from bookings table into bookingsItems table - (one bookingID can have many bookingsItemsID). I have already created a relationship in vb.net between the bookings table and bookingsItems table, so getting the bookingsID value into the bookingsitems table is not a problem, its just the stockID value from table stock which I cannot obtain.

I have the insert command in vb.net -
    Code:
      Dim insert As New SqlCommand("test", conn)
            insert.CommandType = CommandType.StoredProcedure
            insert.Parameters.Add("@stockID", SqlDbType.Int, 100, "stockID")
            insert.Parameters.Add("@bookingsID", SqlDbType.Int, 100, "bookingsID")
            BookingsItemsDataAdapter.InsertCommand = insert
    And in SQL server I have the Stored Procedure -
    Code:
    (
    @StockID as int,
    @bookingsId as int
    )
    as

SELECT stockID
    FROM tblstock  
    WHERE stockID = @StockID

SELECT bookingsID
    FROM tblbookings
    where bookingsid = @bookingsID

INSERT INTO tblBookingsItems (stockID, bookingsID)

VALUES(@stockID, @bookingsID)

Hi moss2076