Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    7

    Question Unanswered: when set up Environment Variables

    Hi friends,
    I am new informix DB. I review document both informix dba and install.
    I do not know when do I need to Setting Environment Variables. before install or after instll. the system is redhat linus 5.0 and informix 10.
    anything do i need to do before install informix server ( entire package) ?

    Thanks for any help.

    JIm

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    7

    when set up Environment Variables

    Hi friendd,
    Do I need to create INFORMIXDIR directory before install informix 10?

    Thanks,

    Jim

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    12
    Set the Environment BEFORE you begin the install.

    create a /etc/profile.local

    export INFORMIXDIR=/opt/IBM/informix;
    export INFORMIXSERVER=tcpxxxxxx;
    export PATH=$PATH:$INFORMIXDIR/bin;
    export DBDATE=DMY4.; <- your local DATE format
    export DBMONEY=.; <- your local MONEY format
    export DBDELIMITER=#;
    export ONCONFIG=onconfig.xxxxxxxx;

    After that, create a user/group informix

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    33

    Hi Jim

    While installing,it will ask for the path where you want to do.You can simply give the path.After installation u need to set env variables like INFORMIXDIR,PATH,INFORMIXSERVER.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    2
    [QUOTE=jimmyzhu]Hi friendd,
    Do I need to create INFORMIXDIR directory before install informix 10?

    Thanks,

    Jim[/QUOTE

    You need to set the INFORMIXDIR=where you want to install the informix software.
    you need to set the PATH=$PATH:$INFORMIXDIR;export PATH

    if you are about to create the DB instance, you need to set ONCONFIG=onconfig.file (where default location is $INFORMIXDIR/etc
    also set INFORMIXSERVER=nameofinstance where default location is INFORMIXDIR/etc
    INFCOMPILER=c4gl (if you are using informix4gl compiler).

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    33

    Hi Jim

    yeah,create a directory and give the same path while installing and after the installation is successfull, set INFORMIXDIR to directory path.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •