class schedule database

I'm trying to create a database to see which classrooms are in use during the week...

I'm in the process of listing "preliminary field lists", "subjects", and a "table list".

Classes are on Monday, Wednesday and Friday (MWF) or Tuesday and Thursday (TR). Classrooms are designed by building number and room number so a classroom may be A-245 which means building A, room 245. Classes have a start time and end time.

I've came up w/ the following:

Preliminary Field List:
    Day of the week
    Class Name
    Classroom Number
    Building Number
    Start Time
    End Time
    Class Room Capacity
    Class Size

Subjects:
    Class Times
    Class Days
    Class Names
    Class Locations
    Class Room Capacity
    Class Size

Preliminary Table List:
    Class Times
    Class Names
    Class Locations
    Class Size

I've never done this before and wanted to see if you guys though this looked correct. Any help is appreciated.

I need to create a "Final table list" and "table structure" which I'm okay with doing but figure I'd ask you pros on here first.

Final list options for tables are obviously: data table, linking table, subset table and validation table
    Last edited by PaulCky411; 09-21-08 at 17:24.

no one eh?

I take it that the assignment is due tomorrow?

-PatP

Quote Originally Posted by Pat Phelan
    I take it that the assignment is due tomorrow?

-PatP
    haha, yes sir... thats what i get for waitin til the last day, but no worries, i understand it (i think), i just wanted to see what others thought

Ok, you aren't very close to what I think you want based on your initial description.

To think about tables, think about the nouns that you'd use to describe your problem. Things like buildings, classes, schedules would identify tables.