Unanswered: Setup DB2 online backup

Hi,
    I am new to DB2 with background in Oracle.
    Recently, just got a chance to configure online backup on windows for DB2 ver 8.1 and 9.5 databases.

I have enabled Archive logging for the DB2 database by configuring:
    - LOGRETAIN to ON
    - USEREXIT to ON
    - TRACKMOD to ON

Some IBM online help, mentioned turning on LOGRETAIN & USEREXIT, while some other sites mentioned need to turn on TRACKMOD. I'm a little confused.

I am able to perform online backup of the DB2 database including logfiles.

However, after every online backup, the non-active archived logfiles in the LOGPATH directory never gets cleared.

Is there any parameter change which can allow the non-active archived logfiles to be automatically removed after each successfully online backup?

I have read from IBM docs :
    http://publib.boulder.ibm.com/infoce...n/c0008178.htm

Log file allocation and removal
    Log files in the database log directory are never removed if they may be required for crash recovery. However, if you have enabled infinite logging, log files will be deleted once they have been successfully archived. When the logarchmeth1 database configuration parameter is not set to OFF, a full log file becomes a candidate for removal only after it is no longer required for crash recovery. A log file which is required for crash recovery is called an active log. A log file which is not required for crash recovery is called an archived log.
    The process of allocating new log files and removing old log files is dependent on the settings of the logarchmeth1 database configuration parameter:

I have tried enabling "infinite logging" but the non-active archived logfiles are still not removed after a successful backup?

Do I really have to write housekeeping scripts to do this task?

Any advise is greatly appreciated.

Cheers
    Oracbase

Provided Answers: 5