Unanswered: Database structure for venue seating

Hi all,

I'm an absolute newbie on the site please be nice

I have a friend that has asked me to design a database for his small venue to cater for taking bookings for different seats in his venue. This type of project is completely new to me so therefore I am unsure how each seat should be stored properly. Well I suppose I know a very long winded version which would be a field for each seat and another field for that seat type which would correspond with a costing table. Surely this is not the way to tackle this as it would be extremely long winded as there would be numerous different seat types etc not too mention a ridicules number of fields!

Any help on this would be extremely welcomed as I have been mulling this over for quite sometime and no definite solution seems to be coming to me

M

I will take for granted that all the seats of a table are of the same type.

So from wath you are telling me, I would do this.

Create a table for the seat Types :

Code:
    CREATE TABLE SeatType(
        seatTypeID INT NOT NULL,
        PRIMARY KEY (seatTypeID)
    );
    Create a table for the tables where you can associate the seat type :

Code:
    CREATE TABLE Table(
        tableID INT NOT NULL,
        seatTypeID INT NOT NULL,
        PRIMARY KEY (tableID)
    );
    Create a table for the seats where you can associate the table (and seat type by association) :

Code:
    CREATE TABLE Seat(
        seatID INT NOT NULL,
        tableID INT NOT NULL,
        PRIMARY KEY (tableID)
    );
    Create a table to store the info of each booking (client info, date...) :

Code:
    CREATE TABLE Booking(
        bookingID INT NOT NULL,
        PRIMARY KEY (bookingID)
    );
    Finaly a table to associate the booking with the seats reserved :

Code:
    CREATE TABLE BookingSeat(
        bookingID INT NOT NULL,
        seatID INT NOT NULL,
        PRIMARY KEY (bookingID, seatID)
    );