Database design: variable attributes

Hello everyone,

My apologies if this has been asked before, but to be honest I wouldn't know what search criteria to use.

I've been struggling with a problem for the last couple of days and would really appreciate your input on this.
    I am by no means a database expert, so feel free to point out any mistakes I am making.

I'm creating a webshop and have the following tables:

Products:
    - productID
    - categoryID (linked to category table)
    - product
    - description

Types:
    - typeID
    - productID
    - typecode
    - cost

So each product can have multiple product types, so far so good.
    However, every product type can have multiple attributes.
    These attributes can vary for each product.
    The way I see it, there are 2 possible solutions:

Create an attribute table:

Attributes
    - productID (I think this would make querying easier)
    - typeID
    - attribute
    - value

This would mean I would also need a table defining which attributes exist for a product? (for instance to generate input forms I need to know which fields to create)

Structure:
    - productID
    - attribute

So with 5000 products, each having an average of say 5 attributes and 5 product types, this would mean 125000 records in the attribute table.

The other solution I have in mind would be separate type tables for each product instead of the one mentioned earlier:

types_[productID]
    - typeID
    - productID
    - typecode
    - cost
    - attribute 1
    - attribute 2
    - etc.

This would mean dynamically creating tables and adding/removing columns on mutations.

This is the solution I chose at first and this works as it should (for now).
    But somehow that annoying little voice in the back of my head keeps nagging that it's not "clean".

I guess I would rather go for the attribute table, but am a little worried about retrieving data (the queries would get rather complex I assume?) and performance in the future.