Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    6

    Unanswered: problem adding new host in Control Center

    I am trying to add new connection in Control Center using "Add"
    option. The host name "datt" and after search gets following
    errror:

    SQL30081N Wykryto b??d komunikacyjny. U?ywany protokó? komunikacyjny
    "TCP/IP". U?ywany zestaw komunikacyjnych funkcji API: "SOCKETS".
    Miejsce wykrycia b??du: "10.1.5.64". Funkcja komunikacyjna, która
    wykry?a b??d: "recv". Kody b??dów w?a?ciwe dla protoko?u: "*", "*",
    "0". SQLSTATE=08001


    Can anybody suggested what is the problem and how to get it resolved... please let me know if you need any further info..

    Thanks,
    Raggs
    Last edited by raggonline; 10-16-08 at 12:57.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    4,292
    Provided Answers: 5
    SQL30081N is a communications error. You need to check your underlining TCPIP setup.

    Andy

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    6
    Hi,

    Thanks for the reply .. can you tell me what need to be looked at the TCP/IP as I am new to DB2.. Also stack trace shows problem with the DB2.. so please let me know any ..

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    4,292
    Provided Answers: 5
    You need to supply more information. First what DB2 version and OS are you using? What is the tcpip address and configuration of the machine you are trying to add a connection on? Have you tried using the command line?

    Andy

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    2,514
    Provided Answers: 11
    go to command window (db2cmd if windows)
    db2 catalog tcpip node xxx remote ipaddress server portnumber
    where xxx can be any name - ipaddress=ip of db2 server and port is port for instance of db2 server
    db2 catalog db dbname at node xxx <<-- replace dbname with real db name
    db2 connect to dbname user yyyy using ccc <<-- userid and password

    this should work
    if not return with errors encountered
    Best Regards, Guy Przytula
    Database Software Consultant
    Good DBAs are not formed in a week or a month. They are created little by little, day by day. Protracted and patient effort is needed to develop good DBAs.
    Spoon feeding : To treat (another) in a way that discourages independent thought or action, as by overindulgence.
    DB2 UDB LUW Certified V7-V8-V9-V9.7-V10.1-V10.5 DB Admin - Advanced DBA -Dprop..
    Information Server Datastage Certified
    http://www.infocura.be

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    6
    The above problem occurs when there is a hostname in the network(two machines with same hostname). So, Discover component cannot resolve the ip address to the hostname. This results in an error window. Is this a probability of the problem... can any one suggest?
    Last edited by raggonline; 10-16-08 at 12:57.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    4,292
    Provided Answers: 5
    My suggestion would be to shoot the Network Administrator for allowing 2 computers to have the same name.

    Instead of using the machine name, use the IP address.

    Andy

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    6
    wanted to know whether this is the probability for the error else any other such problems causes the above error? And also how is the command line different from the Control Center CA..?

    Thanks for all of the suggestion
    Last edited by raggonline; 10-15-08 at 22:39.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    4,292
    Provided Answers: 5
    Having two computers with the same name is very probably the issue. How is the server going to resolve the name? One time it might get resolved as server a and another as server b. This will most positively cause problems.

    The command line gives you better feedback, and you also have the ability to actually pick ALL of the options that are available for for the commands.

    Andy

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    72
    make an entry in etc/hosts directory

    here you go press start+run type drivers
    go to etc folder and open hosts file and make an entry

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •