Unanswered: Creating Relationships and Normalizing Tables Problem.

Alright, I am a first year database student and am just learning access. I have been given the task of creating a database that is as normalized as possible mimicking the structure of a parking lot. There are a list of spots, one car can only park in a spot, a customer can have a list of guests that can park in that spot, the customer may also have a list of many cars that can park in that spot. The cars are listed by make, model, color, year, licence plate, etc. I seem to have a grasp on breaking up the entities for normalization, but am stuck on the customer -> parking spot relationship. It should be a 1-to-1 in my opinion as a customer may only have one spot and a spot can only be rented by one person. I don't understand how to go about this, would I just put the customer ID and Name into the parking Spot table and make the relationships from the parkingSpots table. I just don't think the one-to-many from parking spot to customer looks right. Attached is the picture of my relationships at the moment. Thank you in advance to anyone taking the time to help me out.

Jeramie.[ATTACH]Click image for larger version. 

Name:	relationships.JPG 
Views:	56 
Size:	30.4 KB 
ID:	8843[/ATTACH]

I'm not an expert here, but it seems to me that if a one-to-one relationship is what you want, then "Parking Spots" are functionally dependent on Customers. They don't need a separate table. "Rent date" is also functionally dependent on Customers, since that is when a Customer record would be created. Generally speaking, an existing one-to-one relationship is a good sign that the two things belong in the same table.

J

Edit: This is probably a question for the General DB Design forum.

Provided Answers: 59
    depends on the needs of the business problem
    a car park has many car park slots