Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    58

    Unanswered: Issue w/ Linked Table Manager

    Hello all,

    I'm getting ready to distribute a split ACCDB and having an issue with one of my linked tables. After moving both front-end and back-end files to our network, the links obviously needed to be redefined. So I used the Linked Table Manager and all is well...except for one table. The most important table in the application will not refresh its link. After browsing for the new file, I am continuously greeted with a "Cannot find file: (old file path here)" message box. A compact/repair did not solve the issue, and I know that it's not a locking problem because no one else has access to these files yet. Have any of you encountered this problem before? Thanks,

    J

    Edit: This issue has been resolved. Mods, feel free to axe this thread.
    Last edited by JManSF; 10-20-08 at 17:35.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    You could tell us what the problem was and how it was fixed. That would be better than axing the thread.
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    58
    Quote Originally Posted by StarTrekker
    You could tell us what the problem was and how it was fixed. That would be better than axing the thread.
    It's a general issue with linked tables, apparently. Whether using the Linked Table Manager or changing link criteria through code, Access seems to require that the old link path be valid. For example, if your database has a linked table at C:\MyData.accdb, and you move that to C:\Data\MyData.accdb, it will not allow you to update that link unless the file "C:\MyData.accdb" actually exists.

    Although, in my experience on this one project, it seems that this is a hit-or-miss kind of error. Only one table in my DB generated the error. The rest were able to update link information just fine, even if the old file path was no longer valid. My solution was to create a text file in the old directory, change the name to "MyData" and the file extension to ".accdb" and re-run the update link code. After that it worked like a charm. Very curious

    J

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    3,926
    That doesn't seem right. You may want to check the locations of the tables it linked to successfully. Worst case scenario might be that those tables which did refresh were actually in a location where the mdb DOES reside (check where they are linking to on the Linking form Wizard). Unless you've deleted and relinked them, they should still be pointing to that mdb.
    Expert Database Programming
    MSAccess since 1.0, SQL Server since 6.5, Visual Basic (5.0, 6.0)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    I usually delete the table link first, then reconnect them -- with code rather than the LTM.
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    3,926
    I do it through the LTM
    Expert Database Programming
    MSAccess since 1.0, SQL Server since 6.5, Visual Basic (5.0, 6.0)

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    58
    Quote Originally Posted by pkstormy
    That doesn't seem right. You may want to check the locations of the tables it linked to successfully. Worst case scenario might be that those tables which did refresh were actually in a location where the mdb DOES reside (check where they are linking to on the Linking form Wizard). Unless you've deleted and relinked them, they should still be pointing to that mdb.
    Exactly. In this case, I had deleted the old back end data file BEFORE changing the link information. This is a rather annoying issue, because it's very likely that a user could rename a folder that contains the back end or move the back end file to a different folder.

    The two back end files were exactly the same, PK. The issue is not that certain tables are in one file but not another. Anyway, this isn't the most intuitive work around, but it's done easily enough. My re-link routine gets the job done now.

    J

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •