Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    2

    Unanswered: Access Query to MySQL

    I have an access database from which i want to upload a small part of the data to an online mysql server

    To do this i have a query from wich i export the required data to excel then i save is as a .csv file and upload it to mysql

    Now i want this to be easier..
    Is it possible to upload the query directly to the Mysql server? or is there some software that could do this?
    I searched the internet but couldn't find anything

    thanks in advance..

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    20,002
    you can't save queries in mysql the same way you save queries in access

    you could make it a view, though
    rudy.ca | @rudydotca
    Buy my SitePoint book: Simply SQL

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    The OP's not trying to save a query tbh.

    The OP wants to upload the results of a query to the MySQL server.

    You should connect the MySQL tables into Access and the query can then append (insert into) those tables directly.
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by StarTrekker
    You should connect the MySQL tables into Access and the query can then append (insert into) those tables directly.
    I successfully connected to the mysql table i need.

    How do insert the data of the query into the table??
    Last edited by klompie; 10-28-08 at 04:37.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    out on a limb
    Posts
    13,692
    Provided Answers: 59
    insert into myMySQLTable........
    I'd rather be riding on the Tiger 800 or the Norton

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    Create a query based on the query you want to get the data from and make sure it is showing you only the columns you need and all the columns you need (no more no less).

    Then turn it into an APPEND query, select your MySQL table and OK. Match up the field names in the design grid.

    TEST CAREFULLY!! Inserting records can be really difficult to reverse if mistakes are made!
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    Which is more or less what healdem said.

    Mainly more.

    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    out on a limb
    Posts
    13,692
    Provided Answers: 59
    the alternative is to use a programs such as dbtools to do it for you. however dbtools is more aimed at migrating data rather than running two systems side by side. you will need to do some manipulation of your Access data to make sure you dont' send duplicates, and or handle record contentions gracefully
    I'd rather be riding on the Tiger 800 or the Norton

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •