Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    35

    Unanswered: Access exclusive use

    Ok, so if the database is set up for shared usage as opposed to exclusive usage, that means more than one person can open the database, but they can't edit the same record right?

    My database is set up for shared, yet no one can open it while I have it open on my computer? What am I doing wrong?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    214

    ...

    A good way to get around this is to create BackEnd and FrontEnd db's. You have a BE db that contains all of the tables only. Then the FE has everything else and you link the tables from the BE. You put the FE on each pc's c:/ drive or wherever so each person is working from a seperate db. You can put some code in so compares a version number so that when you are done updating, the local FE's will download your new FE and replace their old one.
    You know, I'm sick of following my dreams, man. I'm just going to ask where they're going and hook up with 'em later

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    Since you need exclusive access to the db to make changes, your system is probably opening the database in exclusive mode. If you want others to use the db at the same time, you must make sure that you are opening it in shared mode.

    Which version of Access are you using?
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    out on a limb
    Posts
    13,692
    Provided Answers: 59
    check that your copy of Access is opening in shared mode, NOT exclusive mode

    never make changes to the production (Live) MDB. make your changes and edits in another (development) mdb. ideally run at least 2 versions (the live version, the development version), consider having an intermediate version (ie a copy of the current live version so you can investigate faults, apply fixes, without affecting either the live or development versions.
    I'd rather be riding on the Tiger 800 or the Norton

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    35
    See, that's the odd thing. When I was in Access 2003 I was able to find the Options box and make sure it was set to shared. I even set it to exclusive, applied, and set it back to shared just in case, and still the same. The database is set for Shared as the default open mode, with the edited record set to be locked. Should I check "Open database wby using record-level locking? Either way, it was set to shared and I had no luck with it.
    Last edited by punkn00dlez; 10-30-08 at 09:10.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    I dunno, I never let any users near MDB files so I really don't know what you need to do here.

    Maybe you just need to go to File - Open, select your file, the click that arrow on the side of the Open button and select Open rather than any other way? Not sure.
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    out on a limb
    Posts
    13,692
    Provided Answers: 59
    bear in mind that when you set open exclusive or open shared you are only doing it for your local copy of access, unless you do it programtically, or as part of a command line switch on opening the db

    IIRC changing the exclusive mode in 2003 ONLY sets the mode for that Access environment on THAT machine, NOT for the application.

    so it maybe that YOUR copy of Access 2007 is opening the db in exclusive mode. it will certainly trip to that if you make changes to the db, hence why you shouldn't make changes to a live application
    I'd rather be riding on the Tiger 800 or the Norton

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    Yup. Distribute MDEs to users.
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    35
    I thought MDEs don't allow more than one user on it at a time. Do I have to split the DB, and then create an MDE?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    out on a limb
    Posts
    13,692
    Provided Answers: 59
    no... an mde can be used by multiple users

    however probably the best approach is to deploy a MDE to each user onto their local computer
    I'd rather be riding on the Tiger 800 or the Norton

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    Or use PKs clone launching VBS. Either way is good.
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •