Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Dsnutilb

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    India
    Posts
    40

    Unanswered: Dsnutilb

    In the load step using DSNUTILB, we are specifying the system and uid.

    The following is an example of load step.

    //STEP010 EXEC PGM=DSNUTILB,REGION=9M,
    // PARM=(DBT1,temp,'')
    ...........
    ...........

    Here what is temp?Can i get more information on this uid(temp)....
    I would like to know how it is created?if i get more information on DSNUTILB it would be so helpful.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    273
    the second parameter ( "temp" in your example ) is the utility-Id.
    It is needed to adress a specific utility ( e.g. if you want to alter, terminate or restart it ).

    If you provide a value, that value is used.
    If you omit it or use an empty string, "userId.jobname" is used as default

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    India
    Posts
    40

    Dsnutilb

    Hi,
    Thanks for your response.....
    I have one more doubt regarding the utility..I dont have DBA permission but still i would like to know how can we create the utility(Temp in teh above example) or how can we view it?

    Since i am new to using DSNUTILB i dont have much idea on these utilities.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    273
    You can't "create" an utility.

    You can submit a job containing an EXEC PGM=DSNUTILB step.
    If you do, an utility is started and the specified ( or default ) utility-ID is assigned to it.

    you need some authority to start the utility ( not neccessarily DBADM, may also be LOADAUTH , REPAIRAUTH or something like that ) but you may use any valid utilityId ( if it's not currently assigned to another utility ).

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    India
    Posts
    40
    Then what is the third parameter say PARM=(DBT1,temp,'')? Can i get more information on other parameters for DSNUTILB if any?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    1,328
    Provided Answers: 5
    You could always try looking in the utility guide and reference manual.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    273
    with the third parameter you specify, whether you want to start a new utility or you want to restart a stopped utility.

    As dav1mo mentioned, look at the manuals for detailed information

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •