Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 25
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Cambridge
    Posts
    7

    Unanswered: Printing logos from a report

    Hi Folks,

    I am using Access 97 (I know its old!) and I have designed a report with my company logo in the top right corner of the report. However when i go to print, the logo isn't there! It is a jpg, and i added it using the picture icon on the tool bar. I have also tried adding it using the properties from the report.

    The report also has horrizontal lines in it. If I convert to rtf i loose both the logo and lines!

    Can someone help me, as I am sure there is something obvious that i am missing, or something more complicated that I need to do.

    Lizzie

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    One Flump in One Place
    Posts
    14,912
    Not sure re printing - it might be the difference between embedded and linking image objects. It has been ages since I've created stuff for printing.

    You are missing nothing - Access reports are Access reports - they don't export well to rtf, Excel etc.. If you want to send them to people then best to export in Snapshot format. The snapshot viewer is part of the Office installation - unfortunately, a lot of people exclude if from the installation (I've always had to request IT change their builds to include this). However, as I recall, .snp files can be opened in Internet Explorer anyway.
    Testimonial:
    pootle flump
    ur codings are working excelent.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    PDF is a much better alternative imo, it's just harder to do.
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    One Flump in One Place
    Posts
    14,912
    +1 to that. Shapshot is at least OOTB.
    Testimonial:
    pootle flump
    ur codings are working excelent.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Cambridge
    Posts
    7
    when you are in the report screen, how do you turn it into a pdf?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    Oh and have you checked your Display When property? Perhaps it's set to screen only.

    OOTB? Ah... yes... Out of the box.

    when you are in the report screen, how do you turn it into a pdf?
    Two ways, either print directly to a print driver that creates PDFs or use the PDF API if you need to automate it.

    There's a recent topic with some code that makes PDFs I believe.
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Cambridge
    Posts
    7
    Not sure where the 'display when' is, but under properties, and the 'All' tab, the visable is set to yes, picture type is Embedded and the size mode is stretch.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    One Flump in One Place
    Posts
    14,912
    I suppose when ST says "better" it depends on your requirements. Snapshot is better if your requirement is "how do I produce and distribute reports with no loss of formatting that can be viewed on the most basic workstations for the minimum effort?". As you can see with the above reply, pdf is not trivial.
    Testimonial:
    pootle flump
    ur codings are working excelent.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Cambridge
    Posts
    7
    YAY! Just managed to turn it to get the logo to print via turning it into a PDF. Now i'll just have to work on the code to change that when I click on the button.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    One Flump in One Place
    Posts
    14,912
    Quote Originally Posted by pootle flump
    As you can see with the above reply, pdf is not trivial.
    Clearly I am wrong. It took me blinking ages!
    Testimonial:
    pootle flump
    ur codings are working excelent.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    out on a limb
    Posts
    13,692
    Provided Answers: 59
    depends how you write to PDF
    I use the adobe pdf writer, acts like a printer.. works like a charm, but it costs

    Ive seen other PDF implemetations that used Ghost, and other klunky workarounds.

    But that was a few years ago, since then Ive always used PDFwriter, so there may well be a better alternative out there (either in terms of cost or terms of ease of use).

    Now that the pdf is a (semi) open standard I dont' see what it shouldn't be possible to to write PDF's natively. I did have a requirement to read PDF's and enter data into a db a while back, but on analysing the requirement it became obvious that for the level of use it would get it would be cheaper (and carry less technical risk) to get somebody (or should that read somebiddy) in to read the PDF and type the stuff into the db.
    I'd rather be riding on the Tiger 800 or the Norton

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    One Flump in One Place
    Posts
    14,912
    It's OOTB in reporting services. Probably just a matter of time for Access.
    Testimonial:
    pootle flump
    ur codings are working excelent.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Cambridge
    Posts
    7
    OK I can't do it! what is the code to print to PDFWriter?

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    out on a limb
    Posts
    13,692
    Provided Answers: 59
    thats the point y'don't need code..
    PDFwriter acts like a printer...
    you select pdfwriter from one of your printers and print to it, exactly as if it was a Laser, Inkjet or whatever.

    you can use code to select PDF writer as the printer if you so wish.. theres some stuff in the code bank, if not theres examples to t'net
    I'd rather be riding on the Tiger 800 or the Norton

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    out on a limb
    Posts
    13,692
    Provided Answers: 59
    Quote Originally Posted by pootle flump
    It's OOTB in reporting services. Probably just a matter of time for Access.
    theres a similar sort of printer on Vista I think is is XDF or stylewriter.. forget wich
    I'd rather be riding on the Tiger 800 or the Norton

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •