Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    72

    Unanswered: Moving Header AND Continuous Records on a Form when scrolling

    I have searched for ages on the web looking for a way to make the entire form scroll rather than just the continuous records. It doesn't seem to be something many people want. My workmates however, find the header staying put and the records moving to be annoying. Is there a way to fix both together. If not then fine but I just want to know if it can be done.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    I know of no way to do it.
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    72
    Thanks for answering.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Richmond, Virginia USA
    Posts
    2,763
    Provided Answers: 19
    I know of no way, either, and I have to say, after trolling this and a number of other Access forums for years, this has to be one of the strangest user requests I've ever seen!
    Hope this helps!

    The problem with making anything foolproof...is that fools are so darn ingenious!

    All posts/responses based on Access 2003/2007

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    I was going to say something similar

    You could have a special record in the data that acts as the report header I suppose. But it would look like every other record.
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    72
    Well thanks for replying. I just wanted to be sure.
    I don't think it is all that strange really, it is kind of irritating for some reason when you have become used to web browsing when the scroll bars are all the way down the side of the form but they move only the records in the form which start part way down the form.

    Is there a way to move the scroll bars then? So that they are beside only the detail section of the form?
    It's just for clarity really.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    This is UGLY, but you could have a mainform with no scrollbars, and a subform (with no header) on it with the data you want. The scrollbar would only be as deep as the records then.
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    72
    Hey, good idea! I don't know if I want to do it as the form looks good already (apart from people not liking the scrolling thing) but it would make more sense to users to see the scroll bars just beside the records.

    I have other more functional stuff to do now, but I might try it after that's done.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    I personally think you should just encourage those users to accept this as "normal"
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    3,926
    I would use a single form and in that form put in 2 continuous subforms (one of them in the header) or just both of them in the details.

    MSAccess does not let you have a continous subform within a continous form. It will make the first form a single form. (this makes sense since you cannot have an unknown record link to a continous subform. If the first form were continuous, MSAccess wouldn't know which record(s) to link on to the continous subform.) There has to be a single static record whereby MSAccess knows what record to link to in the continous form.

    But StarTrekker's suggestion is the best for you:
    Quote Originally Posted by StarTrekker
    I was going to say something similar

    You could have a special record in the data that acts as the report header I suppose. But it would look like every other record.
    I've done this and it works very well.
    Last edited by pkstormy; 11-01-08 at 03:55.
    Expert Database Programming
    MSAccess since 1.0, SQL Server since 6.5, Visual Basic (5.0, 6.0)

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    I'd have an overwhelming need to format that special record differently though,... which doesn't work too well in continuous forms ^^
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    3,926
    I like the "Highlight Record Search Example" form in this attachment which is on a continuous form (once the colors/headers have been tweaked a little.) I've taken this and added in code to produce different ******** text when it is on a specific record.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by pkstormy; 11-02-08 at 10:02.
    Expert Database Programming
    MSAccess since 1.0, SQL Server since 6.5, Visual Basic (5.0, 6.0)

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    Yeah, but the special formatting applies to the current record, which is easy... formatting the header record differently no matter which record has the focus is the problem... and I dare say impossible. You would have to have yet another form... so the simple list goes from being a single simple form to three forms... a mainform to house two subforms...

    Goto post 9
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    3,926
    If a different header was required, I'd just have a text field in each record in the table which I'd use as a header. (which I think you suggested.)
    Expert Database Programming
    MSAccess since 1.0, SQL Server since 6.5, Visual Basic (5.0, 6.0)

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    Which won't work if you want fieldname headings shown in the header, which is kinda normal for continuous forms....
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •