Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: ODBC problems

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    214

    Unanswered: ODBC problems

    I am not sure if this post belongs here or in the SQL Server forum.

    I am importing tables from a SQL Server via ODBC. I am able to find the server and when I import the tables, it leaves several tables out. Looking at the SQL Server, the tables are there, and when I run the import, Access never gives me any error messages, it just doesn't import them like they were never there.

    I am running Access 2003 and SQL Server 2005.

    Does anyone have any ideas?
    You know, I'm sick of following my dreams, man. I'm just going to ask where they're going and hook up with 'em later

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    How are you importing the tables?
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    214

    ...

    File
    Get External Data
    Import

    I change the file type to ODBC from the Import window
    I select Machine Data Source on the Select Data Source window
    Then I choose the data source that is set up for the SQL server

    I have tried both using what was already set up, as well as going to new and creating a new data source going to the SQL server.

    No matter what I do, it imports several tables just fine (mainly schema tables) but the majority of the tables never import.
    You know, I'm sick of following my dreams, man. I'm just going to ask where they're going and hook up with 'em later

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    Manually.... ok.

    You could try creating table links to the SQL server tables and then using APPEND queries to import the data?

    Not sure why it would skip some tables though? Be interesting to find that out.
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    214

    ...

    Our network admin had to bring in a SQL server tech and it apparently had something to do with the SQL server side of it.
    You know, I'm sick of following my dreams, man. I'm just going to ask where they're going and hook up with 'em later

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    3,926
    Why not just "LINK" to the tables versus importing them?

    File
    Get External Data
    Link Tables

    Then you don't need to always import them!
    Expert Database Programming
    MSAccess since 1.0, SQL Server since 6.5, Visual Basic (5.0, 6.0)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •