Post Unanswered: User Profile Storage

I've been programming in C++ and Java for some time, so I have limited experience in MySQL, but there are some design issues I'm not sure of.

Right now, I'm working on an advertisement mapping program. Basically, I need to make SQL tables to manage information for advertisers, users, and the ads themselves. I've got the general structure worked out, but there are three trouble points.

First, I'm not sure what the best way is to store advertisement descriptions. I expect that some descriptions will be one sentence, and others will be four or five. Should the description itself have a field in the SQL table, or should it instead contain a link to a .txt file where the description will be stored (I assume this is how you do images).

Second, I have no idea how to really make the tables secure. Can anyone point me to some good articles?

Finally, I can't find any good examples of how to take user sign up information. For example, when I signed up for this forum, I entered, name, address, and number. However, my service should be available to other countries. How do I make it so that I can accept international numbers and addresses? Are there any good examples or articles on international SQL table planning?

Thanks so much for your help. Looking forward to becoming part of the forums.

1) No external .txt file. Use one of the 4 text types in mysql: TINYTEXT, TEXT, MEDIUMTEXT, or LONGTEXT. Which one you should use depends on how long you expect the advertisement descriptions would be. Take TINYTEXT if you expect descriptions with a maximum of 255 characters, take TEXT for descriptions with a maximum of 65535 characters. Take also a look at the storage requirements: