Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    266

    Unanswered: [BLOB - 8o] [BINARY - 1o] ?

    Do you know why when I am using PhpMyAdmin I am getting rows like ::
    1 [BLOB - 8o] [BINARY - 1o] [BINARY - 1o] 0
    and not the text values ?

    the columns are varchar(45)
    and the table ENGINE=MyISAM DEFAULT CHARSET=utf8 COLLATE=utf8_bin ;

    thank you for helping

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    20,002
    what does "when I am using PhpMyAdmin" mean?

    are you seeing this when you run a query?

    if so, wouldn't showing us the query be a good idea?
    rudy.ca | @rudydotca
    Buy my SitePoint book: Simply SQL

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    266
    yes
    select * from mytable shows [BLOB - 8o] , [BINARY - 1o] , [BINARY - 1o] instead of text

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    20,002
    oh, neat query

    could you do a SHOW CREATE TABLE mytable please

    rudy.ca | @rudydotca
    Buy my SitePoint book: Simply SQL

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    11,434
    Provided Answers: 10
    Quote Originally Posted by r937
    oh, neat query

    could you do a SHOW CREATE TABLE mytable please

    I have to say, SHOW CREATE TABLE is such a great idea and I wish it was included in MSSQL!
    +1 MySQL
    George
    Home | Blog

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    20,002
    george, we will swing you away from the dark side soon enough

    so that's two: SHOW CREATE TABLE and GROUP_CONCAT

    want more? start a thread like "ways that mysql pwns sql server, let me count them" and i'll be happy to contribute

    rudy.ca | @rudydotca
    Buy my SitePoint book: Simply SQL

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    11,434
    Provided Answers: 10
    I do not chose my RDBMS, my employer decides that for me...
    I don't need persuading that MySQL is a serious contendo
    George
    Home | Blog

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    20,002
    Quote Originally Posted by georgev
    I do not chose my RDBMS
    not even for your own personal computer to play around with the syntax?

    there's no excuse for failing to do that much
    rudy.ca | @rudydotca
    Buy my SitePoint book: Simply SQL

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    11,434
    Provided Answers: 10
    MySQL is the only RDBMS installed on my home PC, but I do so little development at home nowadays!
    George
    Home | Blog

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •