Exclamation normalization exercise (was: some other title)

Hey all,

Well this is the situation, I am currently studying Computer Science at University and have only studied a little bit of Databases in the past, enough to keep me going when I was doing it, but now I have taken database modules and everyone seems to know what they are doing.

I am really struggling in terms of trying to understand how to normalize a database!?!? I have looked online at so many different examples, but they all seem to say the same thing, but I do not understand...I think this is right:

-To get a database into 2nd Normal Form you need to remove all functional dependencies.

-To get a database into 3rd Normal Form you need to remove all transitive dependencies.

Hopefully I have understood this correct!?!? But the thing is, I understand the concept of this, but I do not understand how to actually apply this...and I have searched and searched on the Internet for just a simple beginners guide to this...and it is driving me mad on how complex some 'simple' guides are??

There was an example given today, which was this...

If we know this:

Relation Name: Contacts
    Attributes: Name, Room, Telephone, email
    Dependencies: Name -> Telephone
    Room -> Telephone
    Name -> email

Turn this into 3rd Normal Form. I cannot do this to save my life for some reason...I cannot understand how to know what the functional dependencies are??

I mean, from this i can gather that Name -> Telephone, Email, and that Room -> Telephone, but which ones are partially dependent and how do you tell?

If anyone can please PLEASE explain and talk me through this and give a simple guideline on how to turn a table into a 2NF, given a set of dependencies I will be forever grateful!

Thanks you in advance guys, most appreciated!

Ben

try http://r937.com/relational.html

note that room does not necessarily determine telephone

it might've, back in the day, when all there was was land lines