Question Unanswered: Sybase database reload

Greetings all,

I am new to SQL Server 2005, I have 5-6 years of experience with SQL Server 2000. I am mainly a Sybase database guru. I have a Sybase database about 3.5GB, that I need to recreate in an empty SQL Server database. Instead of creating empty tables and using bulk copy to reload the data, is it possible to reload the Sybase database into the empty SQL Server database? If so, how? If not, what does everyone recommend? Please let me know.

Patrick Quinn

Carlson Wagonlit Travel DBA

I don't think you are going to be able to load a Sybase DB via restore database in SQL Server. I think you are going to have to go the SSIS route, or extract DDL/create and then BCP/Bulk Load data to the tables.

If I just installed SQL Server 2005 on my laptop and created the necessary empty tables to load the Sybase data from bcp data load files, how do I use BCP thru SQL Server to load the empty tables?

Patrick Quinn

Provided Answers: 54
    Would the Sybase ASE Migration Wizard help?

-PatP

Quote Originally Posted by Pat Phelan
    Would the Sybase ASE Migration Wizard help?

-PatP
    How About that !

I just installed SSMA for Sybase on my laptop. When I tried to run it, the type Initializer for SSMA threw an exception and kicked me out. Has anyone seen this error before? Was I suppose to reboot my laptop? Where I can go to get past these issues?

Patrick Quinn

An exception means that an error occured in the program.

When this happens, you need to note the error carefully (screen shots help a lot with this). Check the appropriate error logs. In this case, I'd check the wizard's log, SQL Server's error log, and all of the Windows even logs.

There is almost always a message that describes the error. The information provided about that error (both from the message on the screen and from the appropriate logs) will help us a lot as we try to help you resolve the problem.

-PatP