Question Choosing the write tools for the job?

Hi,
    I am new to this forum, so I hope my question is not inappropriate?
    Firstly, just to let you know that my question does not relate to solving a problem for a commercial enterprise, we are an epidemiological research group trying to conduct research in developing countries, and on a shoestring budget. I am a c++ programmer, but have a little knowledge of databases.
    We have to develop a database that can store the results / responses to questions in a text format (rtf, word, txt whatever is best). Each document is the questions and responses of the person participating in the research. Each answer may be 1 or two paragraphs long, and one document may be 5 10 pages long. There may be as many as 5 8,000 documents in the end. Each document represents the responses of one individual to our questionnaire, and each document will be associated with a list of properties, date, time, location, age etc. We need to be able to have our data collectors go through each document and highlight portions of text and associate that text portion with any of a list of keywords. At a later date, for the analysis, we need then to be able to produce reports either something like, how many answers to a question associated with one of the keywords we highlighted did males of age 35 40 give, for example. So relating the document properties with our keyword tagged text portions. The second thing we need to do, is to output together all portions of text associated with one keyword into a single separate document/ report.
    So, as in my experience to solve such problems, the most critical decisions are made right at the start, my question is what route, in terms of programming languages, database management systems would be best to handle such a task? Something good at handling textual data I guess.
    Just to note we have tried out some proprietary software, and although it worked it began to seize up as documents were added.