Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Unanswered: sqlserver Backups and restore

Hi

I am new to sqlserver 2005 comming from Oracle DBA background.
    I saw sqlserver has got many db's on a server.

Suppose i have a db called prod db on server called PROD.currently i am taking a backup of only the prod db is it necessary for me to take backups of other db's like model ,temp,msdb etc from the prod server if so why ?

Also the transaction log file is growing huge how can i reduce it ?

regards
    Hrishy

Temp - no - as implied, it is a "cache"
    Model - only if you change something in it - new databases draw their default settings\ contents from here unless overridden when created
    msdb - yes - contains lots of maintenance info (job history & parameters, backup history & parameter)
    Master - God, yes - do you need to ask?

What is the Prod db recovery model?
    Testimonial:
    pootle flump
    ur codings are working excelent.

Hi

pootle flump appreciate you taking time out and responding please pardon my ignorance (also my mental make up is still oracle)

recovery model is set to full recovery.
    Master why should i back it up ?

I have sucesfully restored the copy of my Prod Db on another server many times now ?

regards
    Hrishy

You need to start reading up on SQL Server I think. The documents (Books Online, plus all the literature) are light years ahead of Oracle documentation (according to the regulars on here anyway).

Master is your most critical system database. If Master corrupts, there goes your instance until you fix\ restore it.

I'll get on to the transaction log - there is more info needed yet. Are you backing up the prod db transaction log?

>> I have sucesfully restored the copy of my Prod Db on another server many times now ?
    You tell me
    Testimonial:
    pootle flump

Hi Pootle Flump

Thanks again
    Yes i do backup the transaction log along with the db.

i need to take care to backup the master model and the msdb database.