Unanswered: Help needed to change VAT rate in database

Any help would be appreciated...

I have a database which was written by an old friend. As the VAT rate has changed i need to reflect this in my database. I have changed as much as i can see in the database from 17.5 - 15%, onscreen everything is ok but still when i print the invoices the prices come with the old 17.5 rate.

Any help would be much appreciated.

That's a hard one to troubleshoot here with out knowing much about the database design/structure, etc. It sounds like the % might be hard coded into the report itself or maybe in the query the report is based on.

Try looking at those things and let us know if you've had any luck.

C

to tell youthe truth i wouldnt know where to look tofind the hard coded stuff as i am not too good with access databases.

The guy that designed it has done a runner

Provided Answers: 59
    vat code hardcoded.. surely not

check the db tables
    have a look at the tables see if their is one for VAT rates

look at the report / form that is displaying the 17.5% rate and work back from there. work out where the 17.5% value is stored.

ideally I'd expect a product to have a VAT code
    and that VAT code is the FK to a table defining VAT rates.

see if there is a hardcoded value in a module somewhere
    I'd rather be riding on the Tiger 800 or the Norton

i have looked everywhere guys but i have come to a dead end.

Can you guys tell me what this does:
    Else
    DoCmd.Requery "CurrentTotal"
    Me!VAT = IIf([txtDesc] = "Used Tyres", 0, Round([CurrentTotal] * 0.15, 2))
    Me!NewPrice = Me!CurrentTotal
    SendKeys "{F9}"
    DoCmd.GoToRecord , , acNewRec
    DoCmd.GoToControl "cboTypeList"

Provided Answers: 59
    that's a hard coded VAT calcualtion
    yuck!
    who ever wrote this was truly no friend of yours or anybody els efor that matter

and worse its specific to a product that its doing a text match on