Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: search module

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    6

    Unanswered: search module

    My requirement is as follows :

    A user would search by customer number or customer lastname,firstname

    when they do so then all the tables in the database should be searched

    and the results should be displayed as

    tablename,customer number,customerlastname,customerfirstname

    if the search by customernumber and the any other table containing the customer number does not have customer lastname,firstname then it show blank values

    ex: search term 1111(customer number)

    result should look like this

    customer(tablename),1111,ivar(lastname),arun(first name)
    articles(tablename),1111, -----(blank),---(blank)

    same when the search with lastname,firstname.

    hope i am clear. thank you very much

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    on the wrong server
    Posts
    8,835
    Provided Answers: 6
    you have more than 1 customer table?
    “If one brings so much courage to this world the world has to kill them or break them, so of course it kills them. The world breaks every one and afterward many are strong at the broken places. But those that will not break it kills. It kills the very good and the very gentle and the very brave impartially. If you are none of these you can be sure it will kill you too but there will be no special hurry.” Earnest Hemingway, A Farewell To Arms.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    6
    Thanks for your response.


    no the customer table is only one .
    But other tables in the database like articles and address

    have customer number in them .So when i search for customer number
    even these tables should show up but since they may not contain lastname,firstname they can be blank.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    183

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    6
    Hi peso

    I know that but can you help me.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    12,592
    Provided Answers: 1
    Use full text search function.
    If it's not practically useful, then it's practically useless.

    blindman
    www.chess.com: "sqlblindman"
    www.LobsterShot.blogspot.com

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    6
    can you show me how to do that on entire database.

    i know how to implemet a full text search for a specific table.

    thanks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •