Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Relationships. Sure. But How Many?

Hi Mates,

I am new to Databse Design and trying to move from spreadsheets to Relational DB. For that purpose I am reading books that are for beginners. The problem is that none of the books have seperate chapters on relationships. They just mention them in passing. On the net also the relationships are not explained properly. I mean, come on, is it not all realy about relationships. I understand the fact that Relational Database and Database Relations are different. The fact that we can represent Data relationaly has nothing to do with the Relational Model (Codd). However to me they seem very important. Different tables for different Entities. Sure. But they are connected through relationships. None of the material I have read explains this important aspect clearly. And than there is Closure. But that is a different toipc so I will not burden you with that for now. I have posted now my question on 5 web sites that claim to be Database Forums. No answers.

One-to-One.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	One to One.gif 
Views:	80 
Size:	10.6 KB 
ID:	9034

In these examples, the relationships are one-to-one. Fine. Logical. But on what ground we decide which Primary Key becomes a Foreign Key in which table. PK President ID in PRESIDENTS table becomes FK President ID in the COUNTRIES table. While the reverse may be quite possible. Which is the Primiary Table and which is the Child Table?