Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    26

    Unanswered: Sceduled jobs in db2

    Hi all

    In my Database server Some sceduled jobs are not running
    How to check what are causes.

    Example:

    I secduled job (backup) at 12:00 but it failed
    backup was not initiated at that time
    how check the what is problem


    Tahnks & Regards

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    4,292
    Provided Answers: 5
    What is your DB2 version and OS? Is the DAS running?

    Andy

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    somewhere in dbforums
    Posts
    221
    Need more info -
    Are you using Task Manager or OS Scheduler?
    What does your scheduled task do?
    Is your scheduled task purely T-SQL or is it made up of scripts?
    If you are talking about scheduling backups, are you defining the job in the automatic maintenance window?
    IBM Certified Database Associate, DB2 9 for LUW

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    26
    HI

    db2 8.2 and AIX 5.2 are versions of database and OS
    we are using crontab to scedule jobs

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    4,292
    Provided Answers: 5
    Do the cron log messages show that it is trying to execute the scripts?

    Which user is executing the scripts? Does it have the correct rights and configurations?

    Andy

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    somewhere in dbforums
    Posts
    221
    so its not a database issue and is an AIX issue..... try googling cron or maybe you cn ask the same question in some AIX forum for faster resolution.
    IBM Certified Database Associate, DB2 9 for LUW

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    1,126
    Quote Originally Posted by prasadv18
    we are using crontab to schedule jobs
    cron jobs run with the correct user-id, but practically without any environment.
    Try adding a line like
    . $HOME/.profile
    at the beginning of the shell script that is started from crontab.
    This should set DB2DIR, DB2INSTANCE, INSTHOME etc.; I'm assuming these are set through your .profile file. Typically, that file will have a line something like
    . /data/udb/db2sysa/sqllib/db2profile
    Adding that line to the cron script (instead of $HOME/.profile) should also work.
    --_Peter Vanroose,
    __IBM Certified Database Administrator, DB2 9 for z/OS
    __IBM Certified Application Developer
    __ABIS Training and Consulting
    __http://www.abis.be/

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •