Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Hadr...

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    131

    Question Unanswered: Hadr...

    Hi all,
    I am using db2 v9.5 ESE on windows.
    i am trying to implement HADR on a test machine. Have set all the required parameters on primary and standby server but when i try to start HADR on a standby server it throws SQL error:1768 with reason code 5, which says the local service name not found. but i have assured that service name is present in the /etc/services file on windows and the same is set for HADR_LOCAL_SVC parameter, then where am i going wrong???

    the service name has been explicitly added by me in the services file as the newly created instance did not do that for me automatically. tried assigning port number also(its 52000).

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,737
    It would be best if you posted your db config for primary and standby (at least the HADR part). Keep in mind that the HADR services must be different than the Instance service.
    M. A. Feldman
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for Linux, UNIX, and Windows
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for z/OS and OS/390

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    131
    ok, i dint knew that HADR service are different than instance service. so how do i add HADR service??? i was using the instance service name till now.
    and here is what you asked for:

    1. on Primary

    HADR database role = STANDARD
    HADR local host name(HADR_LOCAL_HOST)=twdspc201.SYNTELORG.COM
    HADR local service name (HADR_LOCAL_SVC) = 50000
    HADR remote host name (HADR_REMOTE_HOST) = twdspc456.SYNTELORG.COM
    HADR remote service name(HADR_REMOTE_SVC) = 50000
    HADR instance name of remote server(HADR_REMOTE_INST) = DB2
    HADR timeout value(HADR_TIMEOUT) = 120
    HADR log write synchronization mode (HADR_SYNCMODE) = NEARSYNC
    HADR peer window duration (seconds) (HADR_PEER_WINDOW) = 0

    2. on standby

    HADR database role = STANDARD
    HADR local host name(HADR_LOCAL_HOST)=twdspc456.SYNTELORG.COM
    HADR local service name (HADR_LOCAL_SVC) = 50000
    HADR remote host name (HADR_REMOTE_HOST)=twdspc201.SYNTELORG.COM

    HADR remote service name(HADR_REMOTE_SVC) = 50000
    HADR instance name of remote server(HADR_REMOTE_INST) = DB2
    HADR timeout value(HADR_TIMEOUT) = 120
    HADR log write synchronization mode (HADR_SYNCMODE) = NEARSYNC
    HADR peer window duration (seconds) (HADR_PEER_WINDOW) = 0

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,737
    The HADR service ports do not have to be registered in /etc/services if you use port numbers. Try these ports (notice they are reversed on primary and standby):

    1. on Primary

    HADR database role = STANDARD
    HADR local host name(HADR_LOCAL_HOST)=twdspc201.SYNTELORG.COM
    HADR local service name (HADR_LOCAL_SVC) = 18819
    HADR remote host name (HADR_REMOTE_HOST) = twdspc456.SYNTELORG.COM
    HADR remote service name(HADR_REMOTE_SVC) = 18820
    HADR instance name of remote server(HADR_REMOTE_INST) = DB2
    HADR timeout value(HADR_TIMEOUT) = 120
    HADR log write synchronization mode (HADR_SYNCMODE) = NEARSYNC
    HADR peer window duration (seconds) (HADR_PEER_WINDOW) = 0

    2. on standby

    HADR database role = STANDARD
    HADR local host name(HADR_LOCAL_HOST)=twdspc456.SYNTELORG.COM
    HADR local service name (HADR_LOCAL_SVC) = 18820
    HADR remote host name (HADR_REMOTE_HOST)=twdspc201.SYNTELORG.COM
    HADR remote service name(HADR_REMOTE_SVC) = 18819
    HADR instance name of remote server(HADR_REMOTE_INST) = DB2
    HADR timeout value(HADR_TIMEOUT) = 120
    HADR log write synchronization mode (HADR_SYNCMODE) = NEARSYNC
    HADR peer window duration (seconds) (HADR_PEER_WINDOW) = 0
    M. A. Feldman
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for Linux, UNIX, and Windows
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for z/OS and OS/390

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    131
    thanks a lot Marcus, things are working as desired. well what is the range of port that can be used for HADR?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,737
    Quote Originally Posted by nittal
    thanks a lot Marcus, things are working as desired. well what is the range of port that can be used for HADR?
    That is a good question. I got those ports from an early HADR white paper published by IBM, but more recently I have been using ports in the 55000 - 59999 range. The important thing is to make sure you are not using those ports for anything else on the server (and not just ports needed by DB2) .
    M. A. Feldman
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for Linux, UNIX, and Windows
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for z/OS and OS/390

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    2,514
    Provided Answers: 11
    you can use any port number upto 65535 (about) when it get wrapped
    but you specified the port of the instance 50000
    you should specify a specific port different from instance port on which hadr will communicate
    Best Regards, Guy Przytula
    Database Software Consultant
    Good DBAs are not formed in a week or a month. They are created little by little, day by day. Protracted and patient effort is needed to develop good DBAs.
    Spoon feeding : To treat (another) in a way that discourages independent thought or action, as by overindulgence.
    DB2 UDB LUW Certified V7-V8-V9-V9.7-V10.1-V10.5 DB Admin - Advanced DBA -Dprop..
    Information Server Datastage Certified
    http://www.infocura.be

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    131
    thanks a lot friendz...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •