Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    1,191

    Unanswered: Different Button Appearance

    Does anyone have any idea why some buttons on my form look normal when my form loads, and some have an extra border around them? See picture for a clearer explanation of the difference.

    I'm using Access 2003 on a Windows XP 64-bit machine.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Buttons.bmp  
    Me.Geek = True

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    Are some converted from a previous version of Access?
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    1,191
    Thanks for the idea, but no, all buttons were created fresh in the same environment that it now runs in.

    I've noticed that it tends to create the border around buttons that have an image on them as opposed to the ones that simply have text on them. Any ideas?

    If it makes a difference, the buttons are placed on a tab control.
    Me.Geek = True

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Richmond, Virginia USA
    Posts
    2,763
    Provided Answers: 19
    How sure are you that the "frame" isn't part of the image you're using for the command button?
    Hope this helps!

    The problem with making anything foolproof...is that fools are so darn ingenious!

    All posts/responses based on Access 2003/2007

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    1,191
    Hey Missinglinq,

    Well for one, the "frame" appears around the outside of the button, and images are only supposed to be inside the borders of the button right? And two, it's an in-built picture that I selected for the button (ya know, from the properties window, click the browse button next to the Picture property and scrolling through the pop-up list), so I'm fairly sure it's a clean image.

    Any other ideas? Thanks for your suggestions so far.
    Me.Geek = True

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    Is one of the buttons highlighted? Try changing the text for an image to see if it fixes it, but yeah, my next guess is that one of the buttons is currently active which makes it look different. See what happens when you press TAB.

    Bit hard to tell with an image of just the two buttons.
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    201
    It might be worthwhile to compare the Picture, Picture Type, Transparent and Default properties for the button. Perhaps they are created under different conditions and have these properties preset to different values.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    1,191
    Hey guys, thanks for the suggestions.

    StarTrekker,
    I made sure when I took the screenshot that neither button had been or was selected, that is to say, I loaded the form fresh and neither button is tab index 0. I did try tabbing around the form, and also "mouse downed" without "mouse upping" the buttons as an experiment (click and hold button, drag away, release button), but nothing changed.

    Jim,
    I checked the transparent and default settings for all the buttons in question, they were all set to "no". As I mentioned earlier:
    Quote Originally Posted by nckdryr
    I've noticed that it tends to create the border around buttons that have an image on them as opposed to the ones that simply have text on them.
    So the Picture setting is different.

    It's not a terribly big deal, so unless someone knows the solution, I think I'm about ready to chalk up another "oh well, screw it" problem.
    Last edited by nckdryr; 12-31-08 at 18:57.
    Me.Geek = True

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Richmond, Virginia USA
    Posts
    2,763
    Provided Answers: 19
    Are you using Windows XP Theme or Windows Classic Theme for your machine? Access 2003 had a lot of graphics problems if XP Theme is used, and perhaps this is another one. It can be eradicated by right-clicking your Windows XP desktop, choosing Properties, and setting the Theme to "Windows Classic." If this corrects the problem, but you want to keep your XP Theme, the SP3 service pack for Access is said to solve the problem. If you install SP3, be sure and install its hotfix as well. SP3 itself had a bunch of bugs.


    You cannot solve it by deselecting Use Windows Themed Controls on Forms under Tools | Options | Forms/Reports in Access 2003.
    Hope this helps!

    The problem with making anything foolproof...is that fools are so darn ingenious!

    All posts/responses based on Access 2003/2007

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    I'd be trying things like creating a new button and see what it looks like... and try re-creating the buttons where needed.

    No way I would do a "oh well screw it" on that one :P
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    1,191
    Quote Originally Posted by Missinglinq
    Are you using Windows XP Theme or Windows Classic Theme for your machine? Access 2003 had a lot of graphics problems if XP Theme is used, and perhaps this is another one. It can be eradicated by right-clicking your Windows XP desktop, choosing Properties, and setting the Theme to "Windows Classic." If this corrects the problem, but you want to keep your XP Theme, the SP3 service pack for Access is said to solve the problem. If you install SP3, be sure and install its hotfix as well. SP3 itself had a bunch of bugs.
    Just as a follow up for future readers, that was the problem. Thanks Missinglinq and everyone else!
    Me.Geek = True

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    4,049
    Thanks for letting us know!
    Owner and Manager of
    CypherBYTE, Microsoft Access Development Specialists.
    Microsoft Access MCP.
    And all around nice guy!


    "Heck it's something understood by accountants ... so it can't be 'that' difficult..." -- Healdem
    "...teach a man to code and he'll be frustrated for life! " -- georgev

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •