Thread: Please HELP ME

Exclamation Unanswered: Please HELP ME

i am new to sql and i need a way urgently of displaying a table with data from an existing database:

There is one table called ward that has the following colums
    name
    ward_no
    number_of_beds

note: this table only has the total number of beds

The next table i have is patient that has the following colums
    name
    patient_no
    ward_no

For each ward, give the ward number and name, the number of occupied beds and the number of empty beds on that ward.

i need the most effective way posible, thanks for anyhelp you can give

Please help!

Thanks

btw i am using my sql

Provided Answers: 59
    so what have you rtied so far
    does the assignement expect you to use a front end language, and the results all in a single block,
    or do you meet the requirement by a series of SQL statements?

so you need to do a JOIN between the tables
    you need to do a COUNT
    I'd rather be riding on the Tiger 800 or the Norton

i am expected to make one table by typin commands into dos my sql interface.
    i have tried to join and count until my head hurts

thanks

so lets see what you have tried...
    lets see some test data...

Please don't be lazy and post threads with Please HELP ME in the title, it is a waste of people's time, it tells nothing about what the thread is about.

By the way needing an ambulance is urgent, needing help with sql isn't.

gualphdad, thanks for being basicly useless

how do you know that needing help with sql isnt? do you know the details surrounding the urgency....nope. dont wanna help then dont

i am a bit disapointed with this forum, i am not an sql programer.

does anybody know how to preform this basic task?

yes I have some working SQL..... but as (in my judgement its schoolwork, or college,or uni) I'm not prepared to show it. its a bit like being back in primary school.. I show you mine if you show me yours.