Question Unanswered: map data tables and copy data between two schemas

Hi All,

I am new to DB related development, I am currently asked to come up with a solution to write a script or use a tool to map tables between two schemas and copy data from one DB to another
    A simple scenario would be, we have our production DB with the current schema, during each release we might change the structure of development DB or just change names of some columns in some tables.
    the requirement is to have a script or a tool which can map entries of production and copy them to the new structure of development DB

can anyone help me in this regard as I am totally blank on how to proceed with this.

Thanks & Regards,
    Prajwal Boloor

Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Provided Answers: 1
    In some/many/most places running Oracle based applications in a production environment utilize some sort of Source Code Control System to manage the production environment; including schema (DDL) changes

In some/many/most companies application changes (including DDL) are made
    & tested in a development environment PRIOR to be released into Production.

From my perspective the posted "requirements" make little to no sense.
    The schema "changes" should already exist in development DB
    & you should have the necessary DDL to make the requisite schema changes.

Ready, Fire, Aim!
    You can lead some folks to knowledge, but you can not make them think.
    The average person thinks he's above average!
    For most folks, they don't know, what they don't know.
    Good judgement comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgement.

I would argue that you need an instance which is a nightly copy of PROD, in it's entirety. If possible, something like an Export/Import process.

We're looking into the same thing, so that we can investigate production problems in a non-PROD environment which reflects pre-production data.