Thread: Detach Error

Unanswered: Detach Error

Good morning everyone, well I moved the LDF to a different folder on a different disk, detached the database then we attaching it told it where the new location is for the LDF and it gave me an error message saying that the proposed new owner is already and aliased or user in the database. Can anyone tell me what I am doing wrong cause I full access to SQL SERVER, I'm an Admin

Good morning everyone, well I DETATCHED THE Database then moved the LDF to a different folder on a different disk, detached the database then we attaching it told it where the new location is for the LDF and it gave me an error message saying that "the proposed new owner is already and aliased or user in the database". Can anyone tell me what I am doing wrong cause I full access to SQL SERVER, I'm an Admin

full error message

TITLE: Microsoft SQL Server Management Studio
    ------------------------------

Attach database failed for Server 'GCSQL'. (Microsoft.SqlServer.Smo)

For help, click: http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink?ProdN...r&LinkId=20476

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION:

An exception occurred while executing a Transact-SQL statement or batch. (Microsoft.SqlServer.ConnectionInfo)

The proposed new database owner is already a user or aliased in the database. (Microsoft SQL Server, Error: 15110)

For help, click: http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink?ProdN...0&LinkId=20476

BUTTONS:

OK

Provided Answers: 54
    When you move files to another folder and especially when you split the LDF and MDF up (so they are no longer in the same folder as each other), using the GUI to attach the files gets persnickity. All of the files must be on local drives, you can't easily use a UNC or a share.

Explicitly attach the files using fully qualified drive letters and pathnames by executing sp_attach_db. If it burps, post the error message(s) and I'll try to figure out what went bump in the night.

-PatP

Hi there Pat