Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: What Is topsql

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Toronto,Canada
    Posts
    655

    Unanswered: What Is topsql

    Hi ,

    Can anyone tell me what is topsql.

    Is topsql available in DB2.

    If so how we run it.

    Please help,

    DBFinder

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,737
    There is a monitor called db2top that is avaiable in the newer releases of DB2 (and updated in 9.5 FP3). I don't know if that is what you mean.
    M. A. Feldman
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for Linux, UNIX, and Windows
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for z/OS and OS/390

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    somewhere in dbforums
    Posts
    221
    Quote Originally Posted by DBFinder
    Hi ,

    Can anyone tell me what is topsql.

    Is topsql available in DB2.

    If so how we run it.

    Please help,

    DBFinder
    Are you talking about TOP SQL's which is basically
    select top 3 * from tablename in SQL Server???

    If that is the case then in DB2 it is
    select * from tablename fetch first 3 rows only.
    IBM Certified Database Associate, DB2 9 for LUW

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Toronto,Canada
    Posts
    655

    Top SQL

    To capture top SQL statement for performance tuning or troubleshooting.
    I donot know but I guess it may be a utility or a built in command to analyze the sqls running as slow performing.

    'topsql' was used by a high level professional in context of perfomance tunning. I could not find it in DB2 Docs.

    DBFinder

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    4,292
    Provided Answers: 5
    Is this what you are looking for (from the V9.5 info center):

    IBM DB2 9.5 Information Center for Linux, UNIX, and Windows

    Andy

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Toronto,Canada
    Posts
    655
    Maybe,

    but this one is only Ver 9.5 ; we have mixed env where some are ver db2 v8s

    I had seen this before I did post. db2 might be saving sqls in ver 8 too.

    I need a solution in a script to run 12 different servers outputting to text or csv file.

    I am trying to find out and will post my findings.

    Thanks anyway.

    DBFinder

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,737
    You can do a get snapshot for dynamic sql, but you will have to do some manipulation of the output file to figure out the which ones take the longest.
    M. A. Feldman
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for Linux, UNIX, and Windows
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for z/OS and OS/390

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •